Back at work and Embellished!

When I read last November that artist and embroiderer Sharon B of:

(no wonder she’s so busy)
Sharon B embroidery

would make 2014 her last year to give online embroidery lessons, I had to sign up.  Sharon does lots of traditional embroidery, but her encrusted work is so fun and inspiring.  I jumped on it, not thinking about how busy I’d be when the class started in May.  Above and below are samples of her work.  Click on any photo to enlarge.

Sharon B's encrusted embroidery

The course was a lot of fun and being a beginner, very informative.  I was a bit too swamped to finish the second project, but here’s the first one which, of course, I make into doll furniture.  She wanted this first project to be mostly monotone to push us into focusing on texture, which is what encrusted embroidery is all about.  Texture includes different kinds of threads in size and content.  I’ve got cotton, rayon (shinier), metallic & silk threads in floss and pearl textures.  Beads, buttons and anything of visual interest is encouraged.

Encrusted embroidery by Melanie
Most of the class discovered how much effort and skill it took to get all those stitches crammed into the design…..but a lot of fun trying.
Encrusted embroidery
Angie with encrusted doll ottoman
After doing re-upholstery for great designers for over 34 years, learning about embroidery has really make me realize that most of the amazing patterned fabrics I’ve worked with  were actually mass manufactured products inspired by centuries of handwork by the women (mostly) of the world doing embroidery for their families and the very wealthy.  Thanks ladies!

 

2 thoughts on “Back at work and Embellished!

  1. Hi Virginia,
    What an amazing Summer in Texas! Hope you’re enjoying it.
    Send me a picture sometime of Ello. I need to let her inspire me.
    Thanks very much for the compliment and good cheer!
    My very best to you,
    Melanie

  2. Yaaay, you’re back! Can’t wait to see new things and your embroidery is beautiful. Ello is still pining for her lost chair~

Leave a Reply

